** One of the oldest writers' organizations in continuous existence in the United States. **

Alabama Writers Conclave is a 501(c)3.
Your donation is tax-deductible.

2017 Alabama Writers Conclave Writing Conference
June 30 - July 2

Watch this website for future details.


Jim Reed Creative Nonfiction Award Winners   Judge: Roy Hoffman

First Place - Richard Perreault, "Sunshine and Smoke," Bryson City, North Carolina
Second Place - Dianne C. Teague, "Abandoned," Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Third Place - Stephen Edmondson, "A Chance Encounter," Homewood, Alabama
Honorable Mentions
Faith Garbin, "In the Dark," Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Stephen Edmondson, "The Spilt Milk," Homewood, Alabama
Larry Wilson, "An Unsatisfactory Death," Wetumpka, Alabama

Alabama Poetry Society (AWC Poetry Winners)   Judge: Pat Schneider

First Place - Carol A. Grametbauer, "Shorebirds," Kingston, Tennessee
Second Place - Jennifer Grant, "Mermaids of Morrison Springs," Gainesville, Florida
Third Place - Ramey Channell, "Stopping at the Quaker House on a Stormy Night," Leeds, Alabama
Honorable Mention
Jeff Santosuosso, "Babel," Pensacola, Florida

Alabama Flash Fiction Competition   Judge: Katy Yocom

First Place - Beth Hamer Miles. "Autumn Care," Birmingham, Alabama
Second Place - Linda Willing, "Mission to Mars," Gulf Shores, Alabama
Third Place - Glenda Slater, "Well, If You're Sure the Time's Up," Spanish Fort, Alabama

Dorothy M. Lobman Novel Award (First Chapter)   Judge: Laura McNeill

First Place - Kathleen Thompson, "Remembering Fire: A Novel," Birmingham, Alabama
Second Place - Katie Aiken Ritter, "Viking: The Green Land," Monkton, Maryland
Third Place - Bonnie Fay Dunn, "Mary Ann's Dress," Banks, Alabama

Short Story   Judge: Cate McGowan

First Place-Amy Lampe, "Elderbeest," Decatur, Georgia
Second Place-Beth Hamer Miles, "Well Done," Birmingham, Alabama
Third Place-Richard Perreault, "Holding Hands With the Clock," Bryson City, North Carolina
Honorable Mention
Larry Wilson, "Desert Frost," Wetumpka, Alabama
Larry Williamson, "Final Ride," Tallassee, Alabama

Juvenile Fiction   Judge: Rae Ann Parker

First Place-Kathleen Thompson, "Blame It On the Moon," Birmingham, Alabama
Second Place-Ramey Channell, "Uncle Bartholomew and the Biscuit Angel," Leeds, Alabama
Third Place-Barbara Gold, "The Moonlight Bandit," Stamford, Connecticut


Click to view!

Contact Us | Links